Florida employment law is comprehensive and addresses the needs of Florida’s workers in many ways. One of those ways is to deliver a fair and equitable Workers’ Compensation plan. If you need information about this plan if you are a worker covered by Florida employment law, then you can find it two ways – either search for it on the Internet or go to the nearest Florida Department of Financial Services.
If you intend to seek benefits under Florida employment law regulations, then you need to have your ducks in a row before you do that. For instance, if you have an accident on the job, you must under Florida employment law, report it to your employer within 30 days of the accident or find your claim denied.
Do employers have obligations under Florida employment law to report a workers accident to their insurance company? Yes, and they must do so within 7 days after they have been informed by the employee of the accident.
If you find yourself in the awkward spot where the employer won’t report the accident to their insurance company, you do have other options under Florida employment law. You have the right to report the injury to their insurance company. If you need help call the Employee Assistance Office.
Are you concerned about the type of medical treatment you may get? Under Florida employment law provisions, the authorized medical services provider will give you the required care, and/or prescriptions. You of course will not be paying any medical bills, as they are sent directly to the insurance company.
Good news and bad news here. Under Florida employment law, you won’t get paid for the first seven days of disability. If you lose more time than seven days – say for instance longer than 21 days or three weeks – you may be paid for the first seven days by the insurance company.
Of course you are going to be quite interested in the amount you will be paid while you are off on compensation. Generally speaking, in the majority of cases, your twice a month check will be 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage. There are a variety of formulas used to calculate your benefit check, in addition to various injury dates and how the formula is calculated.
By the way, you don’t pay taxes on benefit income – unless you are back to work on light duty, then you would pay taxes on those wages. Your first check arrives within three weeks of you reporting your injury to your employer.